Mar 252005

Recording Industry Icon Henry Stone Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

[ Photos - WMC Lifetime Achievement Awards Ceremony ]

Miami, FL: Legendary record executive Henry Stone, founder of TK Records, received the International Dance Music, Lifetime Achievement Award during the 20th Annual Winter Music Conference at the Wyndham Hotel in Miami Beach, Florida, on Thursday, March 24, 2005 at 8:00pm.

Stone received the award for his 50-plus years as a record producer, distributor, label owner and innovator in the dance music industry. During his career, Stone has worked with numerous music greats including James Brown, Ray Charles, Sam and Dave and many more, and launched the careers of the record breaking dance music act, KC And The Sunshine Band.

In 2004 Stone received the first ever Dance Music Pioneer Award at ceremonies in New York.

The Winter Music Conference, in its 20th anniversary year, is regarded as the singular networking event in the dance music industry, attracting professionals from over 60 different countries. Every aspect of the industry is represented including the top technological innovators, artists, DJs, producers, radio and video programmers, retailers, distributors, audio manufacturers and many more.

The International Dance Music Awards was established by the Winter Music Conference and is the premier awards show for the international dance music industry.

For more information on the Winter Music Conference and the International Dance Music Awards, visit


Miami Herald News – excerpt
They may not be as hip as they once were, but European trance and techno DJs were the big winners at last night’s International Dance Music Awards, hosted by the Winter Music Conference poolside at the Wyndham Miami Beach Resort….

A lifetime achievement award went to Miami’s Henry Stone, founder of such seminal ’70s soul and dance companies as Tone Distributors and TK Records, home to K.C. and the Sunshine Band, Timmy Thomas, and Betty Wright. Stone received a standing ovation.

”After 55 years of hard work in the music business, it’s a wonderful honor,” Stone said before the show. “Something I really believed in was dance music. I feel like Miami never got recognition.”

The awards are voted on by members of the dance music industry.

Mar 052004

(photo copyright (c) 1999-2004 Melissa Ulto)

Henry Stone, the founder of TK Records, receives Dance Music’s ‘Pioneer Award’

Henry Stone, the founder of TK Records, received Dance Music’s ‘Pioneer Award’ in New York City on September 20th from the Dance Music Hall of Fame.

Stone, a pioneer in the record business, founded TK Records. In the 70′s the label became the number one independent record label in the world as it released hit after hit that topped the dance music charts.

With chart toppers as KC and The Sunshine Band’s “Get Down Tonight”, “That’s The Way I Like It”, George McCrae’s “Rock Your Baby”, and so many more, TK kept the dance floors and film soundtracks dancing around the world.

Henry Stone is the only non performing-artist who received an award this year.

Tom Silverman and Henry Stone (photo: Bernie Lopez -

According to Stone, “I really appreciate the honor of being recognized for the hit records I released over the past 30 years. It means that what we did then has had a lasting affect around the world. The disco era was great. I am looking forward to attending this event.”

The Dance Music Hall of Fame was established to recognize the contributions of those who have had a significant impact on the evolution and development of dance music and to celebrate the history and significance of dance music.

Artists and others that helped to shape the dance music industry become eligible for induction 25 years after their first contribution or record release. Some of the criteria considered include the influence and significance of the nominee’s contributions to the development and perpetuation of dance music.

Bernie Lopez (, Henry Stone and Marty Angelo (

Founding board-members of The Dance Music Hall of Fame include Brian Chin (Music Historian and Former Billboard Magazine Editor), Daniel Glass (President, Artemis Records), Eddie O’Loughlin (President, Next Plateau Entertainment), John Parker (Vice President, A&R/Dance Promotion, Robbins Entertainment) and Thomas Silverman (Chairman, Tommy Boy Entertainment).


The Board of Advisors include: Marty Angelo, John “Jellybean” Benitez, Joey Carvello, Mel Cheren, Michael Ellis, Dimitri of Paris, Tony Humphries, Frankie Knuckles, Jurgen Korduletsch, Brad LeBeau, John Luongo, Guy Moot, Michael Paoletta, Vince Pellegrino, Cory Robbins, Pete Tong, Cary Vance, Louie Vega, Pete Waterman and Judy Weinstein.

Please see the Dance Music Hall Of Fame website at for further information.